Back to results


S.C. Warden and Tompkins, solicitors, of Stratford-upon-Avon


Deeds and papers from the offices of S.C. Warden and Tompkins, solicitors, of Stratford-upon-Avon.

  • Finding No


  • Date


  • Extent

    733 items

  • Status


  • Level


  • Associated people

    S C Warden and Tomkins,

  • Enquire

    Enquire about this object

Admin History

John Charles Warden, son of John Warden, landlord of the White Lion Inn, Henley Street, was licenced to practice as a solicitor in 1859. By 1860 he was practising in both Stratford and Henley in Arden. In 1862 his address was 28 GuIld Street, Stratford, in 1874, 11 Guild Street, and by 1876 at 10 Guild Street where the firm remained until 1984. J.C. Warden took his son Stanley Charles into clerkship in 1886 and partnership in 1892. In 1897 Stanley Charles took over his father's role as Superintendent Registrar on the former's retirement due to ill health. After John Charles' death in 1899, Stanley Charles practised alone as S.C. Warden until just after the end of the Second World War, when he took Jack Derry Tompkins into partnership, the firm being known as Stanley Warden and Tompkins. This was the name of the firm until 1982, although after 1970 Stanley Warden's name no longer appears in directories or phone books and he had presumably died. In 1983 the firm appears as Stanley Warden Tompkins, Talbot and Search; in 1984 as Tompkins, Talbot and Co.. By 1985 J.D. Tompkins had retired and the firm divided into different partnerships: Talbot and Co., based in Southam and Search and Co. in Wood Street, Stratford-upon-Avon.