Snitterfield deeds: Phillips of Welcombe
Indenture between Dame Elizabeth Hales, widow of Sir Stephen Hales, late of Snitterfield, knight of the Bath, deceased of one part and the Honourable Thomas Coventry of North Mymmes, Hertfordshire, esquire and Edmond Page, gentleman, servant to the said Thomas Coventry of the other part, whereby Dame Elizabeth Hales granted to Thomas Coventry, the Manors of Snitterfield and Luscombe with appurtenances, also land called Bearley Grove containing 160 acres, also 3/4 of a yard land in the occupation of Alice Hancome widow, also lands called Grissells containing 10 acres in the occupation of William Carr, also a messuage, garden, orchard etc. in the occupation of Samuel Merricke, also a meadow called Hillocks Meadowe in the occupation of Samuel Mericke and John Bracey, also a messuage with appurtenances and one quarter yard land in the occupation of John Merce, also a messuage with appurtenances with one cottage thereto belonging in the Common Field in the occupation of George Pittaway, also messuages in the occupations of William Knight and John Pigeon, also a messuage in the occupation of Henry Corbett and William Pagett, also a messuage and premises together with part of Hillocks Meadowe in the occupation of Giles Merricke, also a messuage in the occupation of Hy. Sumner, also a chief rent issuing out of the Manors of Snitterfield and Luscombe being £7-18-3, also a moiety of the tithes of corn and grain together with the Manor House and capital messuage with appurtenances theretofore in the occupation of John Tue lessee and later of Stephen Hales and then of Dame Elizabeth Hales, also lands known as The Parkes and Turvills containing 93 acres, 2 roods and 33 perches theretofore in the occupation of John Tue, also Upper Park Pitts next adjoining Galley Hill (7a-2r-10p), also Little Park Pitts (5a-3r-16p), also Poole Park (26a-2r-20p), also Little Coppice Parke Pitts (1a-0r-20p), also West Nether Park Pitts (13a-2r-0p), also east Nether Park Pitts adjoining the Grove (20a-3r-0p), all which last mentioned premises contain 79a-1r-26p in the several occupations of John Meades, William Meades and William Patchett, also Luscombe Farm buildings containing 1a-0r-36p, also Luscombe Farm enjoyed and let with the last mentioned messuage, also lands called Home Close (7a-1r-0p), Churchill (28a-1r-0p), Hill Topp Close (10a-3r-14p), Homeward Stable Close (10a-2r-19p), Further Stable Close (7a-0r-35p), The Picke Close (10a-2r-16p), Little Meadow (7a-3r-10p), Long Meadow (10a-3r-0p), Moore Meadow (4 acres), Moote Meadow (3a-0r-20p) and luscombe Close (32a-1r-0p), all of which last mentioned lands were in the occupation of Robert Meades and contain 141a-3r-30p, also a messuage and farm house called Le Heath with appurtenances containing 4a-0r-26p, also the farm called Le Heath, also lands called Oxe Close (3a-3r-6p), Barn Close (10a-1r-6p), the Meadow (7a-2r-20p), Nether Ham (6a-2r-0p), Smithes Meadow (8a-3r-10p), the Upper Ham (12a-0r-18p), Redhills (45a-3r-20p), Baxter's Ham (4 acres), all of which last mentioned parcels of land containing in the whole 103a-0r-26p in the several tenures of Dame Elizabeth Hales and Humphrey Wheatley, also lands called Brenthill and Broad Meadow containing 177 acres in the several occupations of Dame Elizabeth Hales, William Carr and Samuel Merricke, also a messuage, cottage or homestead being part of a yard land with appurtenances containing 10 acres, also lands called Barley Close (5a-3r-0p) in the occupation of Hy. Corbett, all of which premises were situate in Snitterfield, Bearley, Commins, Luscombe, Fulbrooke and Le Heath, and were mortgaged to Sir James Rushout for £2000 by Indenture of 1st February 1668 (see DR38/40), also a messuage in the occupation of John Hill and appurtenances in the Townefields containing one yard land, also a messuage in the occupation of William Meades of the Brooke with appurtenances in the Townefields containing one and a half yard lands, also a messuage in the tenure of William Carr, all of which last mentioned premises were mortgaged to Jasper Maris by an Indenture dated 7th April 1664 for £520 (see DR38/38), also a messuage in the occupation of Thomas Meades with appurtenances in the Townefields containing one and a half yard land, also a messuage in the occupation of John Herbage with appurtenances in the Townefields containing one and a half yard land in the Townefields, also another messuage in the occupation of John and Richard Bracey with appurtenances in the Townefields being one yard land, also a messuage in the occupation of William Bayles containing one and a half yard land, also a messuage in the occupation of John Elvins with appurtenances in the Townefields. All of which last mentioned premises were mortgaged to Theophilus Bird by an Indenture dated 19th October 1662 (see DR38/37) for £1000, also the premises described in DR38/34 as having been mortgaged to Thomas Combe by an Indenture dated 24th June 1656 for £424. Together with all Estate right title including tythes of the said Dame Elizabeth Hales in Snitterfield in consideration of £14,500. Signed: Eliz. Hales. Seal wax enclosed in paper, no impression. Witnesses: Ric. Newdigate, Robert Raworth, Tho. Raymond, Ger. Hough, John Denn, Robert Nelsam, Step. Casingley and Edward Berry. Inrolled in Chancery 14th January 1669.