Back to results

Archive

Stratford-upon-Avon Borough

Description

Letters patent, 1553-[1942] Minute books, 1555-1835 Orers and byelaws, 1603-(1900) Chamberlains' Accounts, 1585-1828 Receipts and Vouchers, 1555-1835 Account books of the Borough Chamberlain, 1585-1828 Rentals and surveys, 1561-[1826] Leases of Corporation property, [1501]-1852 Title deeds, 1560-1821 Maps and plans, 1807 Registers of horses sold at the fair, 1731-1787 Court of Record, 1544-1779 Certificates of election and admission of Capital Burgesses and Aldermen, 1701-1834 Lawsuits, 1635-1831 Volumes of miscellaneous documents, 1370-1886 Other miscellaneous volumes, 1515-1821 Records of various trading companies, 1572-1726 Bonds and Declarations of Trust, 1731-1816 Papers relating to admissions to King Edward VI Grammar School, 1811-1825 Lists of freeholders and leaseholders, 1832-1834 Loose papers relating to various Corporation matters, 1571-1835

  • Finding No

    BRU

  • Date

    1370-1942

  • Status

    open

  • Level

    fond

  • Associated place

    United Kingdom - England - Warwickshire - Stratford-upon-Avon - Henley Street - Shakespeare's Birthplace,

  • Enquire

    Enquire about this object

Related material

BRR: the records of the reformed borough, 1836-1974 BRT: the records of the institutions carried on by members of the Corporation acting in another capacity (e.g. as Justices of the Peace) or whose responsibilities and/or records were taken over by the Corporation (e.g. the Gild of the Holy Cross) Minutes and Accounts = Minutes and Accounts of the Corporation of Stratford-upon-Avon, 1553-1598. 98, 5 vols. Dugdale Society, vols. 1,3,5,10, 35 Halliwell = A descriptive calendar of the ancient manuscripts and records in the possession of the Corporation of Stratford-upon-Avon by James Orchard Halliwell, 1863.

Admin History

Following the dissolution of the Guild of the Holy Cross in 1548, leading townsmen successfully petitioned Edward VI for the incorporation of the borough of Stratford-upon-Avon. This was granted under the letters patent of 1553 which also conferred on the newly-formed Borough responsibilty for the almshouse, the Grammar School, the right to hold a weekly market, and a Court of Record. Part of the College estate was granted to the Borough which was also permitted to collect the tithes - a stipend was to be paid to the vicar and the schoolmaster. The Borough was reformed under the Municipal Corporations Act 1835 and later records can be found under the reference BRR.