Back to results

Archive

Stratford-upon-Avon Foods

Description

Records of Stratford-upon-Avon Foods, founded in 1932 by B.C. and N.C. Joseph as Stratford-upon-Avon Produce Canners Ltd, renamed Stratford-upon-Avon Canners in 1968 after purchase by the Distillers Company in 1962. The name Stratford-upon-Avon Foods was adopted in 1987, following acquisition by the Albert Fisher Group in the previous year. The factory premises were situated in Birmingham Road, alongside Joseph's Aluminium works, but in 1970, production was extended to an adjacent site on the other side of the railway line, accessed from Timothy's Bridge Road. Mainly comprises photographs (in excess of one thousand), but also includes some printed ephemera and advertising matter etc. The collection is divided into seven main series: /1: printed ephemera and other non-photograhic material /2: photographs of premises in Birmingham Road, including some of production processes /3: photographs of premises in Timothy's Bridge Road /4: photographs of canning processes at the Timothy's Bridge Road plant /5: photographs of jam-making processes at the Timothy's Bridge Road plant, replaced in 1992 with pickling plant /6: photographs of social activities, visits, special events etc. /7: photographs of plants elsewhere in the country, particularly Falkirk and Skelmsdale, owned by the parent company

Custodial History

Salvaged from the works on the closure of the business in 2001