Back to results

Museum

Plaster cast of the seal of the College of Stratford-upon-Avon

Description

Plaster cast of the Common Seal of the College of Stratford-upon-Avon, founded by Ralph de Stratford in 1353 and taken down in 1799. The seal is a pointed oval measuring 2 1/4 by 1 3/8 inches and bears in the centre a representation of the Holy Trinity within a canopied tabernacle of three arches. At the base is a shield of arms; on a fess three crosses crosslet; about the border is the legend 'Sigillu coe Collegij de Strettford ad cas', (ad causas means for current business; not the official seal, which probably required the presence of numerous witnesses for the attestation of the deed on which it was used). The seal apparently dates from the fifteenth century., Described by 1868 catalogue as 'A fine impression from the seal of the ancient College at Stratford-upon-Avon; plaster; a pointed oval shape; the Trinity, legend SIGULLU COE COLLEGII DE STRETTFORD AD CAS [causas].'

  • Object number

    STRST : SBT 1868-3/284

  • Date

    unknown

  • Material

    plaster

  • Measurements

  • Width

    3.5 cm

  • Height

    2.25 in. 5.7 cm