Back to results

Museum

Oak standing livery cupboard

A mid 17th-century oak standing livery cupboard; the rectangular three-plank top above a heavy applied moulding; the upper portion with two plain panels to each end; the front with a large single-plank door inlaid with a diamond and the initials TH, and flanked by plain panels; the lower portion open and flanked by square-section baluster legs with plain legs to the rear; above a multi-plank potshelf on plain stretchers and high block feet; English, about 1640; top and related moulding, front face of balusters and some base-boards replaced; the lower portion probably enclosed at some time (but not originally).

  • Object number

    STRST : SBT 88

  • Date made

    c. 1640

  • Material

    wood oak

  • Measurements

  • Width

    1.22 metres

  • Height

    1.17 metres

  • Marks & inscriptions

    TH,

  • Location

    Hall's Croft - Dispensary