Back to results


Bishopton, St Peter


Registers of baptism, marriage, burial, and other church registers, 1590-1969 Records of church management, 1830-1969 Miscellaneous, 1810-1951

  • Finding No


  • Date


  • Extent

    15 vols, 66 docs, 1 file

  • Status


  • Level


  • Enquire

    Enquire about this object

Related material

Plans of Bishopton Chapel, 1825-1833 (ER23/2/68-70); papers relating to Bishopton, 1683-1842 (ER11/29); bills and receipts (BRU/5); Ordnance Survey (1": Sheet LIV, SE) coloured to show the boundaries of the parish and borough of Stratford-upon-Avon, together with the chapelries of Luddington and Bishopton, c.1875 (BRR/71/18); Extract relating to Stratford-on-Avon taken from the report of the Commissioners made of goods belonging to colleges, chantries, chapels and guilds, 1 Edward VI. Curious notices of the Guild Chapel and of the Chapels at Bishopton and Luddington, 1547 (ref BRU/15/9/3); Note about the yearly rent of the tithes of Old Stratford, Bishopton and Welcombe, (BRU/15/12/9); Notes relating to Bishopton Chapel, Stratford-upon-Avon, regarding value, fabric, curates, 16th century - 20th century (DR41/20); Notes relating to list of Vicars, Curates etc., of Stratford-upon-Avon; Letter regarding the Reverend Joseph Greene of Stratford-upon-Avon and Bishopton. (1711-1790); Letter regarding the Reverend Joseph Greene and Richard Greene of Lichfield, Staffordshire, and Bishopton in Stratford-upon-Avon. (1716-1793), 16th century - 20th century (DR41/28); Appeal for funds to rebuild Bishopton Chapel, list of subscriptions, office at laying the first stone, etc. 1842 (ER1/3/46); Presentments of the Churchwardens of Stratford-upon-Avon and Old Stratford at Courts of Walwyn Meese, Vicar and Judge of the Peculiar, 1710-1727 (ER1/7/5); Rev. Richard Morris, on a proposed rebuilding of Bishopton Episcopal Chapel; Eatington Vicarage, 29 Apr 1837 (ER1/20/12); Views of Bishopton Chapel, 1822-1824 (ER1/29/5); Papers including printed list of subscribers to the rebuilding of Bishopton Chapel near Stratford, with further appeal for the funds, 1844 (ER1/34/13); Interior of Bishopton Chapel, [1800-1830] (ER1/70/34); Collection of presentments and other documents of churchwardens of Stratford-upon-Avon and of the Chapelries of Bishopton and Luddington, 1581-1628 (ER1/115); Draft Conveyance of a close in the Hamlet of Bishopton bounded on the South East by the burial ground of St. Peter's Episcopal Chapel and on the South West by the road called Warwick Way [Bishopton Lane], 5 Nov 1872 (ER3/3739); Extracts from 'Notitia Diocese' with entries relating to Stratford and its chapelries (Bishopton and Luddington), c. 1700 (PR173/4); Articles from the 'Warwick Advertiser' concerning Bishopton Chapel, 1842 - 1843 (PR229); Negative of Bishopton Chapel, c. 1910 (SC42/560) Medieval font from St Peter's Church, Bishopton, Warwickshire (ref SBT 1973-39); early nineteenth century Book of Common Prayer, 1838 (ref SBT 1993-31/937); 'A history of the parish of Saint Andrew, Shottery and the chapelry of Saint Peter, Bishopton in the Barlichway hundred of Warwickshire' by John Winterburn, 1984 (ref 87.3/Shottery Reading Room pamphlet); 'Record of a churchyard : Bishopton, Stratford-upon-Avon', 1978 (ref 92.2 Reading Room pamphlet); Monumental inscriptions : St. Peter's Church Bishopton, St. Gregory's Roman Catholic church, Payton St. Baptist Church, Stratford-on-Avon, Warwickshire, [1987], (ref 92.2 Reading Room)

Admin History

The chapel of St. Peter at Bishopton was originally endowed in the reign of King John. A daughter church of Holy Trinity, this chapel was built and maintained by Sir William de Bishopsdon and his tenants. By the 17th century, however, attendance at services was low and services were only held fortnightly. Following grants of Queen Anne's Bounty, Bishopton was separated from its mother church but remained in the gift of the vicar of Stratford. By 1804 the chapel was said to be ruinous and it was demolished some 20 years later. Although plans for rebuilding the chapel were submitted in 1826, building work was not completed until 1844. The new chapel was built half a mile away from the old site as it was anticipated that the new development of Bishopton Spa would give rise to a greater congregation. However, as with its predecessor, attendance at services proved insufficient for continued provision; the chapel was closed and demolished in 1969. From 1791, the living was a vicarage in the gift of Holy Trinity and from at least 1870s the incumbent of St Peter's also held the curacy of St James in Stratford (see trade directories for this period). Previously, the Corporation had appointed clergy to this position but this was later challenged and the Corporation withdrew its claim. The Corporation remained liable for the repair of the chancel and references to the re-building and building repair can be found in the Council minute books. For further information on the early history of Bishopton Chapel, see the Victoria County History entry for the Borough of Stratford-upon-Avon: Churches and charities ( See also John Winterburn's 'A history of the parish of Saint Andrew, Shottery and the chapelry of Saint Peter, Bishopton in the Barlichway hundred of Warwickshire', 1984