Back to results

Archive

Bible: Chapelry of Luddington

Description

Copy of the 'Bishop's Bible', 1595,' imprinted at London by the deputies of Christopher Barker, printer to the Queens Maiestie'

Bound in boards and annotated:
a) on the fly leaf with: a note concerning its repair and the making of a box to hold it (DR408/4), 1878; a list of the vicars of Stratford-upon-Avon, 1589-1867, entered by J.D. Collis in 1878, with later additions to 1969; note concerning the dedication of the new Luddington Chapel, 1872

b) on the first page of the church calendar with a note by John Baldwin, 1872, confirming that the Bible came from the old church

c) on the last page of the Old Testament with: list of Luddington curates, 1872 - ; contemporary entries of births and deaths of the Cole family, 1796-1803 d) on the last page of the New Testament with further entries for the Cole family, 1796-1803

Pasted on front inside board:
a) a note concerning J.D. Collis's gift of the box (DR408/4) b) a copy of James Saunders' drawing of the ancient chapel

Enclosed: two letters to John Baldwin concerning the bible and the chapelry of Luddington

(See also: SR Folio 98/HOL accession 8342539)

  • Finding No

    SR Folio 98/HOL 8342539

  • Date

    1595-1969

  • Extent

    1 volume

  • Status

    open

  • Level

    item

  • Associated place

    United Kingdom - England - Warwickshire - Luddington,

  • Enquire

    Enquire about this object