Back to results


Mills family of Barford and Pillerton Hersey, Warwickshire


Wills, letters and diaries, with estate papers and other miscellaneous material relating to the Mills family of Barford and Pillerton Hersey, Warwickshire

  • Finding No


  • Date


  • Extent

    0.013 cubic metres (88 items)

  • Status


  • Level


  • Enquire

    Enquire about this object

Related material

separate list in reading room

Custodial History

Retained in family possession until deposited by Miss P. Mills in January 1971

Admin History

The Mills family were a prominent family in Barford from the eighteenth century. The Reverend John Mills acquired the advowson (the right to present the incumbent to a parish living) in 1745 and it was held by his descendents including Major J.B.Mills in 1982. In 1787 the present school house was obtained on lease and later purchased by William Mills and bought by the Reverend Francis Mills in 1819 for the exclusive use of the schoolmaster. Charles Mills M.P. for Warwick lived at Barford Hill House, unti around 1847 when Samuel Ryland, an industrialist from Birmingham took over the residence. Barford Hill House was demolished in 1954. Taken from Barford in Past Years, A.S.Twigger (1982) and Becoming Barford, Barford Heritage Group, 2010. In Pillerton Hersey, the Mills family owned the manor between 1823 and 1937.