Back to results


Maxstoke Priory lordship


Deeds and papers relating to the Priory Lordship of Maxstoke, 1364-1840 with other deeds and papers relating to estates of the Paulet family outside Warwickshire, 1672-1737

Related material

See VCH, vol 4, 137-141

Admin History

Administrative History Maxstoke came into the de Clinton family by marriage in the 1290s. In 1331 William de Clinton, Earl of Huntingdon established a chantry there, subsequently transferring the endowment to found a house of Augustinian canons. In 1347 John de Clinton gave the manor house `within the park' to the canons, receiving from them the manor of Shustoke in exchange. From this point Maxstoke divides into two lordships: the Castle and the Priory. The castle lordship passed through various hands until 1599 intul it came into the Dilke family with whose descendants it remains. The priory lordship was granted in 1538 to Charles, Duke of Suffolk who in 1540 sold it to Robert Trapps of London. Nicholas Trapps died in 1544 leaving two daughters, one of whom married Giles Paulet, a son of the marquess of Winchester. The Paulets received Maxstoke in the subsequent partition of the estates and continued to hold it until 1706 when it passed to the Leighs as part of the marriage settlement of Mary Holbech, great-granddaughter of William Paulet