Back to results


Records of the Stratford-upon-Avon Bridge Commissioners

Admin History

Administrative History Bridge Commissioners were appointed by an Act of Parliament of 1812 to deal with the problem of widening Clopton Bridge. By a new Act of 1826, the powers of the Commissioners were widened to include the improvement of the appearance of Clopton Bridge which included the demolition of property in Middle Row, Bridge Street. The Commissioners remained responsible for the upkeep of the bridge until 1879 when the Corporation took over their duties under the terms of the Borough Act passed in that year