Back to results


Baptist Church, Stratford-upon-Avon


Records of the Stratford-upon-Avon Baptist Church: registers, minutes, accounts etc.

Related material

separate list in reading room

Admin History

Baptists started to meet regularly in Stratford in 1826. They formally constituted themselves in 1832 and largely through the efforts and enthusiasm of James Cox, owner of the timber-yard, were able to buy a site in Payton Street on which they had built an opened a chapel by 1836. Ther building was extended in 1843 and the Sunday Schools built in 1861. The chapel has been in continual use since its opening