Back to results
Back to results


The works of Mr. William Shakespear; : in six volumes ; adorn'd with cuts / revis'd and corrected, with an account of the life and writings of the author by N. Rowe.

  • Accession number


  • Class

    SR 38/1709

  • Language


  • Physical description

    6 v., [58] leaves of plates (inc. fronts.) : ill., ports. ; 23 cm.

  • Credit line

    CC-BY-NC-ND Image Courtesy of the Shakespeare Birthplace Trust

General note: Each play has a separate title page with the imprint: "Printed in the year 1709." and an accompanying frontispiece.

Formatted contents note: Volume I: The tempest ; The two gentlemen of Verona ; The merry wives of Windsor ; Measure for measure ; Comedy of errors ; Much ado about nothing ; Love's labour's lost -- Volume II: A midsummer-night's dream ; Merchant of Venice ; As you like it ; Taming of the shrew ; All's well that ends well ; Twelfth-night, or, What you will ; The winter's tale -- Volume III: King John ; King Richard II ; Henry IV Part I ; Henry IV Part II ; King Henry V ; King Henry VI Part I ; King Henry VI Part II -- Volume IV: King Henry VI Part III ; Richard III ; King Henry VIII ; Troilus and Cressida ; Coriolanus ; Titus Andronicus -- Volume V: Romeo and Juliet ; Timon of Athens ; Julius Caesar ; Macbeth ; Hamlet, Prince of Denmark ; King Lear ; Othello -- Volume VI: Antony and Cleopatra ; Cymbeline ; Pericles, Prince of Tyre ; London prodigal ; Thomas Lord Cromwell ; Sir John Oldcastle ; The puritan ; A Yorkshire tragedy ; Locrine.

Provenance note: Volume IV. Bookplates on the left paste-down: Caleb S. Mann; initials J. S. below a bird.

Binding note: 'Russia-effect' leather binding with gold-tooling to boards and spine.

References: ESTC T138296.