Back to results
Back to results


Old Mill Bridge


Drawing of the Old Mill Bridge Stratford-upon-Avon, 11th May 1867

Watercolour and ink on paper

John Theobald Marshall (16th November 1849 - 1888)

This sketch shows the 'old mill bridge' (also known as Lucy's Mill Bridge) after it was badly damaged by flooding in 1867. It has been signed and dated by the artist who was then in his late teens. An inscription on the frame states that it was made from 'OAK FROM THE OLD MILL BRIDGE', most probably by Marshall himself. The bridge dated back to the early 16th century. The damage caused in 1867 meant that it had to be completely rebuilt, it was again rebuilt in 1934.

John Theobald Marshall was a local artist born in Stratford-upon-Avon in 1849. His father, John Marshall, was a wood carver and cabinet maker and the family lived on Chapel Street. His mother, Eliza, was described in the 1851 census as an upholstress suggesting a family-run furniture making business. John Theobald initially trained in wood carving under his father before establishing himself as an artist. He is known to have signed some of his work using a monogram of his three initials. He married local woman Eliza Kitchen in 1874 and the couple had a son, Francis, born around 1877. After their marriage the couple lived in West Street. John Theobald died in 1888 at the age of just 39. Eliza went on to marry another local artist, William Wells Quatremain, in 1895.

  • Measurements

  • Width

    260 mm (unframed)
    336 mm (frame)

  • Height

    180 mm (unframed)
    250 mm (frame)

  • Credit line

    CC-BY-NC-ND Image Courtesy of the Shakespeare Birthplace Trust