Back to results
Back to results

Museum

Palmer's Farm

Description

A painting of Palmer's Farm, formerly believed to be Mary Arden's House. Written in pencil on the back of the frame 'By J. T. Marshall of Stratford upon Avon 1871'.

The house was first referred to as Mary Arden's House in 1798. Since 2000 however, it has been known as Palmer's Farm, following new research. The red-brick cottage to the south-west (previously called Glebe Farm) is where Mary Arden is believed to have lived.

  • Measurements

  • Width

    440 mm

  • Height

    310 mm

  • Marks & inscriptions

    TM 1871,

  • Place made

    United Kingdom - England - Warwickshire - Stratford-upon-Avon

  • Credit line

    CC-BY-NC-ND Image Courtesy of the Shakespeare Birthplace Trust